Treated like a Queen

Today was a new day. We had a few places to go so I didn’t get to find out what it’d be like to be home 3 days in a row. We had music lessons at 2:30, and then I went home and changed to go to Carrabbas with my sister. Change is an understatement. I don’t wear make up, dressing up usually means jeans without holes, and a nice shirt and clean shoes. So tonight I put on makeup (it took me a while to actually find it and then a few moments to remember how to put it all on). I’m so out of practice but the end result was at least pretty good. Put on a shirt from the closet that wouldn’t have fit me well 6 months ago (I’ve lost 10 pounds), put on some slacks I don’t think I’ve worn for over a year, some nice shoes and left. I drove to my sis’s house so she could drive us to Carrabbas. I don’t mind giving them a little shout out because I’ve never experienced quite the service I got tonight. Sis is a part of the “amici” club and tonight they had a wine tasting, theoretically served with a few appetizers. They greeted us at the door, and welcomed us to the bar as if we were the only ones there. Sat us down, talked with us like we were family and then started to serve us some wine. We tried four different wines, two red and two white, ate some calamari, some fried zucchini sticks, and some bruschetta (sp?). That was wonderful but that wasn’t where they stopped. After they were sure everyone who was coming had arrived and had those wines and appetizers, they moved us to a large long table and sat all 16 or so of us down for dinner. I can’t even remember the names of the dishes. They served us some chicken marsala and something else chicken, another glass of red and another glass of white wine to go with it so we could experience how wine and food can work together. Delicious. Then when done, our dishes were removed and replaced with a lovely chocolate based desert and some port. We went home well satisfied and thoroughly spoiled. We didn’t spend a dime, not one cent. This was a service, a very good one, probably to boost Carrabbas. Such as my free advertising in my blog.
The best thing of all, though the food and wine were great, was not the food at all. The best thing is that the servers treated us like we were real live human beings with value. The simple touch on the shoulder, the hand shake, the many many times they brushed against us to serve us, these are the things that make a person feel alive and feel worthy. Every person there was touched in some way, physical contact. I truly believe that is the most important part of the entire process. People like to be real, like to know that they exist to another person and touch is one of the best ways to do that. When is the last time you touched the ones that you love and care about? Do they know that they are real and important and worthy of your attention? Is your partner willing to touch you? Every day in a loving, I know your there, non sexual way? Or do you drift by each other barely even noticing or acknowledging the other person? Every one has heard that your actions speak louder than words, this is so true. A husband or father who hits or abuses his wife or children is teaching them a lot about worth and touch. Those children grow up and expect to be hit or abused allowing a cycle of violence to continue. However, growing up with a simple peaceful touch from a father or mother teaches that worth doesn’t have to hurt or have punishments.

Now I’m home resting on my bed recounting a part of my day.  Just some random thoughts put down in the emptiness of the internet probably never to be read but it still gives me peace to write and hopefully a chance to rest my brain from all the activity so I can sleep tonight.  Good night world.  May God bless you and keep you,

w

One thought on “Treated like a Queen

Leave a Reply

