Tempers, Tantrums, and That’s Not Fairs!

There are a few people in this world that I love more than anyone else.  My children. (My husband,too, but this one’s about my kids.)  It’s getting late and the tempers and tantrums are flying.  The “That’s Not Fair!” one is the worst.  Every parent out there does things to or for their kids that they think is best despite what the child thinks.  If they don’t then there may be a question as to how much that child is loved.   Once in a while the parent has to be the bad guy instead of the friend.  Parent first, friend second.  Almost sixteen year olds seem to think they know everything there is to know, or at least mine does.  I remember being 15, my husband remembers being 15 and we remember when his sister was 15…  That time can be very hazardous to the health, of parents.  I had a less than savory boyfriend at the time, not a relationship I’m proud of.  He spoke great.  He was extraordinarily wonderful when he wanted to be.  He owned me, I ran over him with my car and I was proud of it. (I guess I was 16 by then.)  My mom ended up getting a visit by the police because she hit him… It wasn’t exactly the best of times.  I moved cross-country three years later to get away from him.  So when I see my daughter spending an inordinately large amount of time texting a young boy, who I haven’t met and who she barely knows, at all hours of the day and night… well then, actions have consequences.   Mind, she’ll be mad at me for a while, but I think she’ll survive and I know she’ll be a stronger, better person for it.

Tantrum wise, this award goes to the three-year old.  I think a couple of weeks ago I finally realized how badly spoiled she was becoming.  She doesn’t take no for an answer and if it doesn’t go like she wants it she goes for the other parent.  It is really beginning to get old.  Last night she woke up at 4 AM and was crying because she was hungry.  (I have no doubt she probably was because she didn’t eat well yesterday) She wouldn’t be consoled by me with a little bit of milk or water to get her through the night.  Instead she started screaming for her daddy, who happened to be up on a call for work.  I don’t know about you but I don’t do very well at 4 AM.  I tried to reason with her, she is 3, so I’m not sure what I was thinking.  Finally she got what she wanted, her daddy.  She drank some apple juice and came back to bed.  Tonight she decided to pitch another fit, and even though she didn’t get exactly what she wanted, she did get the attention she wanted and so will likely repeat the entire mess.  They say the youngest is always spoiled. I’m hoping “they” are wrong.

That’s enough for now, thanks for reading,

w

Leave a Reply

