Time flies

How time flies! This year is already more than half over! I remember when everyone was worried about Y2K. Now I have kids born afterward. We used to have an 8-track player and now my kids don’t even know what a record is, let alone an 8-track player. I remember having my first baby at 23 but now I look at 23 year olds and I see babies. My “baby” is now about to get her license. Where did the time go? Now I have four “babies” and all of them are out of diapers now. In fact we haven’t had to buy diapers in quite a while. I never thought I’d miss diapers but well, naaa I guess I don’t. I do miss the babies that didn’t talk back, that didn’t sneak around, that didn’t like boys or girls. I miss not having to worry about where they were or who they’re with. Now, in a blink of an eye, they’re almost grown. I love my children more than the air I breathe, and I don’t know how I’ll be when they have families of their own.

I remember where I was standing and what I was doing when the planes crashed into the twin towers. It’s been almost ten years since then. I was standing in line at Burger King on the way to COOP with my two older kids. (My only two at the time.) When we got there we prayed and then went home. It was terrifying, it was frightening. I was in shock. I think the whole nation was in shock. Good things did come from bad though. The next few years Americans were just Americans. We weren’t black, or white, or American Indian, or African American, or Chinese American or boys, or girls, we were just Americans, proud of our country and of our homes. Things don’t seem quite the same now. The country right now seems more divisive than I remember ever before in my life. Martin Luther King Jr would be turning over in his grave if he were seeing how people are treating each other now. The racially motivated mob that attacked people outside the fair in Wisconsin and the flash mobs in Philadelphia would have made him faint with disgust. Martin Luther King Jr wanted people to be judged by their actions, not by their color. He wanted people to see people as humans; all one race, the human race. Why then do people keep separating us. Aren’t we stronger if we stick together? Don’t you want to be judged by who you are inside instead of by the color of your skin? Don’t you want to be treated with respect? Self respect is where it starts. If you don’t respect yourself, no one else will either.

You know what I can’t remember, not very well anyway? I don’t remember what I did last week, or who I spoke with yesterday. The day to day things just don’t stick sometimes. I’m hoping to make some wonderful memories in the future. Things I can count on to keep the time from flying as fast as it has been. I hope to take the time and remember these important things to come. My babies will be grown someday and when they have babies of their own I plan on telling some really good stories to tell their children. Maybe the the time when C broke her arm racing to the mailbox, or the time she almost shot the neighbor, or the time when P was stuck upside down behind his bed, or how little C talked with his imaginary friend, Fink.  There are so many things I need to remember.  Pay back for their teen years, I’m looking forward to it. 🙂

Leave a Reply

