Thoughts on Christianity

Hi folks, this one is more of a diary entry, random thoughts…
I haven’t wanted to write much recently. I have my opinion about the upcoming presidential election but I really don’t want to bother anyone about it. I don’t like how Obama has been acting and I really do like our system of government as our founders originally planned.
My family has been going to a different church the last six months or so and we’re still trying to figure everything out. I’ve read about half the Bible since we started and hopefully will finish before the next half-year is out. We started going to “membership” classes and I find myself less talkative than usual. I guess I decided that other people might have something to say that I could learn from. This is a reach for me. I’ve always been so self-centered and felt that I know quite a lot. (I do actually know a lot about Christianity and the Bible.) I listened as people talked about becoming a Christian as an adult, how they somehow decided to be Christian and their life changed completely afterward. For me I’ve always been a Christian, I grew up in a Christian family and have grown up knowing that God loves me and has always loved me. There have been times in my life when I refused God and tried to do my own thing and make my own decisions without His approval. There have been times when I came back to His loving embrace and always been accepted. My life is full of ups and downs. I’ve decided many times to do what is contrary to what the Bible teaches as right only to learn on my own that there are reasons behind the commandments. Reasons that have nothing to do with being “right”. “Thou shalt not covet your neighbor” helps a lot with not going into debt. “Thou shalt not murder” keeps you out of prison. “Thou shalt rest” (paraphrased) helps keep you sane. “Thou shalt not have idols” helps keep things in perspective… The list goes on. “Don’t sleep with your neighbor’s wife” keeps you from ruining your marriage. I’m thinking God might have these rules so that we don’t get hurt and screw good things up. Still… I am human and I am tempted to do my own thing just for me. I might want to add a few more “rules” to the book, though. Things like “thou shalt not buy a house you cannot afford” or “thou shalt not stay up all night when you have to get up in the morning” or “thou shalt not eat all fried food.” I’m thinking my commandments would get kind of long. Jesus said to “Love the Lord your God with all you body, all your mind, and all your strength, and to love your neighbors as you love yourself” (paraphrased) I think that just about covers it. Easy to love God when you know him, easy to love your neighbors when you don’t know them, and hardest of all to love yourself knowing all you do about who you are and what you’ve done. So, to stop all the crazy coveting, murder, adultery, idols, etc… remember to love yourself and that God loves you and it’s no problem.

w

Leave a Reply

