An escape

What makes an escape, an escape?  I’ve been “escaping” for years.  Escaping the noise, escaping the chaos, running toward the woods.  Running towards fun and happiness. Running to help others become amazing.  An escape is getting out of your head and out of your normal crazy life and doing something worthwhile.  Sometimes escaping is more work than you’ve ever done, sometimes it’s surprisingly easy.  Always it gets you out of your head.  I escaped recently, I left an emotionally abusive marriage.  It was one of the hardest things I’ve ever done in my life.  It was all about the kids and very little about me, it was necessary.  It was an escape like you’d think of an escape, literally running for our lives… But then there’s the escape from me?  How do I get out of my head?  How do I learn to let the past go?  How do I take a step back and breathe a breath of fresh air?  This past weekend I ran away for a few days, a few wonderful, hot, fun days.  I ran toward a group of young adults learning how to live.  I ran toward a group of teenage girls that were going to summer camp.  We rode jet skis, went tubing behind a boat, some tried to water ski.  We tried our hands at kayaking to find they didn’t like it much.  We tried paddle boarding and just hanging out.  We had a fantastic time.  We climbed a tower and rappelled down.  I had done all of these things before but most of us hadn’t and all of us gave it our best shot.  An escape from me was had.  By escaping me, though, I found myself different.  I found myself smiling and laughing.  I found my body sore and bruised.  Above all else, I found myself happy.  I found a renewed hope in things to come and new friends to join me on my journey.  So, now I’m back home and time is still marching forward.  My house is a mess and my kids need some discipline.  But, I’m better able to handle it.  I’m ready, almost, to face the world.  Life?  I love life.  Home? I like being home now.  There’s a lot more healing to do, but my escape this weekend was a definite good start.  Remember, always, to take time for yourself because no one else will.  You’re not any good to anyone else if you don’t.

Thanks for reading,

me

Leave a Reply

